Third time’s a charm..

12 Sep

So I’m taking Financial Controllership 2(pretty much corporate finance) for the third time.  Yes, the third time.  I passed the first 2 times, but I need a grade of 70 for it to count towards my accounting designation.  My prof gave us the option of reviewing our final exam to help us figure out where we went wrong. I had a feeling a messed up on the theory (I hate reading) but I just wanted to see to make sure.  I was wrong.

Turns out I was having a hard time with unit 3.  When I told the course during the summer it was accelerated.  Meaning it was a 15 week course crammed into 7.5 weeks, maybe not a good idea for my brain.  By the time we did unit 3, I had to learn all this material and be ready to be tested on it in less than 2 weeks; another bad idea.  After review my exam with my prof we had a little talk.  She asked me how far I was in my designation and what the next step was.  I told her how I wasn’t sure if I wanted to continue with the designation. I explained I didn’t find it fun and I wasn’t sure if it was actually accounting or the organization I worked for.  I continued on and told her I was looking into project management .She (like others) told me that accounting isn’t the greatest but it pays the bills. She said I should finish my designation especially since I’ve passed the half way mark.  No one ever really questions someone with an accounting designation because everyone knows about all the hard work and dedication that goes behind it.  She went on to say I should finish it now, while I’m still young and if anything use it to open doors for me later, like getting my project management designation.

After listening to her, I kinda agreed.  Project management requires work experience.  If I continue with my accounting designation and see if I can work on some projects and work with budgeting a forecasting, I can build on the work experience I would need.  My prof also told me that the fact that I’ve been with the same company for 5 years is a good thing. It shows that I’ve proven myself to be a hard worker, especially in a time when it’s hard to get a job.  She continued and told me she’s knows I’m capable of great things and I should just have some patience.

I left the meeting feeling better and having a better idea of what to do next. I think I will finish my designation but I won’t rule out project management, especially since I’m supposed to be meeting up with Alex later today.  Can’t wait to see how that goes

One Response to “Third time’s a charm..”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Third time is most definitely the charm… | Travelling to 30 - December 23, 2013

    […] in September I discussed my pain joys of taking my corporate finance class for the third […]

Leave a comment